Katulu

Address

Katulu GmbH
Gertigstraße 48
22303 Hamburg
Germany

Phone

+49 40 22 86 03 19 2

E-mail

hello@katulu.io


KSB Guard

Introduction

The KSB SE & Co. KGaA, based in Frankenthal, Germany, is one of the world’s leading manufacturers for industrial pumps with over 15 million installations in the field. These industrial components are used in a wide range of applications from building, industrial technology, water and wastewater treatment, to renewable energies and power plant technology. Plant availability, operational safety and maximum efficiency are core characteristics of KSB’s products. For this reason industrial IoT plays a key role in KSB’s digital strategy to deliver these promises at all times.

Problem statement

KSB wants to challenge their own standards and push the core characteristics of their products like plant availability, operational safety and maximum efficiency even further. Therefore KSB was seeking a solution to enable better maintenance strategies, to predict and reduce system downtime and to reduce overall operating costs. Furthermore, the product lifecycle of KSB pumps, which are not serviced by KSB themselves, ended after the pump has been sold. KSB wants to make the life cycle of all pumps installed in the field traceable and, based on this knowledge, extend it significantly.

Solution

The KSB Guard is a cloud-based condition monitoring solution for industrial pumps, which ensures system transparency, better maintenance strategies, predictable and thus reduced downtime and ultimately lower operating costs. The KSB Guard was designed as a non-invasive solution to explicitly address the brownfield, as well as the more recent greenfield market.

 

The solution consists of multiple components:

  1. Sensor unit: Gathers vibration and temperature data via sensors directly attached to the pump

  2. Sender and battery unit: Sends the measurement data securely to the gateway

  3. Gateway: Sends the data via LTE to the IIoT Cloud Platform while maintaining the highest security standards

  4. IIoT Cloud Platform: Monitors data streams, analyses the data, and manages devices and their alarms

  5. Web Application and Mobile App: Visualizes pump data and alarms

This solution enables pump operators to identify faults and anomalies faster than ever. At the same time a solid database is established for additional optimization measures like improved maintenance strategies, better planning and overall reduction of system- or plant downtime, and finally the reduction of operating costs.

Engagement

Katulu advised KSB during the evaluation and conception phase of the project in terms of product development, IIoT and Cloud technologies. Katulu has developed the Industrial IoT Platform into a successful product and thus implemented KSB’s vision with the KSB Guard using the special competences in our Software and our IIoT Product Development.

The core of the KSB Guard is the IIoT Condition Monitoring for Industrial Components such as pumps. This monitoring is based on a Device Cloud, a Data Lake, as well as a mature User- and Organization Management, to implement a highly scalable and secure industrial IoT Platform.

As we are dedicated to building sustainable solutions, we provide Operations & Support for the industrial IoT platform of the KSB Guard as well. Due to the Serverless Architecture and AWS managed services the platform is based on, it was possible to optimize operation costs compared to other IIoT platforms without compromising uptime or security.

Testimonials

We at KSB focused quite early on digital business models. For example with KSB Guard - our innovative monitoring unit for pumps. For our clients KSB Guard is the simple and fast way to start with our smart services that allow for a fail-safe and cost-optimized plant operation. From begin on Katulu assisted us very good in a very close partnership: From evaluation, conception, IIoT- and cloud-technologies to the implementation and operation.
Dr. Thomas Paulus
Chief Digital Officer (CDO), KSB SE & Co KGaA
Katulu supported us to create a scalable multi-tennant IIoT cloud platform for KSB products. On this platform we constantly offer new services to our customers. Within the scope of the cooperation Katulu showed us how to do it. Not only that our cooperation is fun, it also leads und into our digital future.
Dr. Jochen Mades
Head of Application and Technology Development, KSB SE & Co KGaA

Katulu

Adresse

Katulu GmbH
Gertigstraße 48
22303 Hamburg

Telefon

+49 40 22 86 03 19 2

E-mail

hello@katulu.io


KSB Guard

Einführung

Die KSB SE & Co. KGaA aus Frankenthal, Deutschland, ist einer der weltweit führenden Hersteller von Industriepumpen mit über 15 Millionen Installationen im Feld. Diese industriellen Komponenten werden in vielfältigen Anwendungsbereichen eingesetzt, von Gebäude- und Industrietechnologie, über Wasser- und Abwasserbehandlung bis hin zu erneuerbaren Energien und Kraftwerktechnologien. Die wichtigsten Stärken der KSB-Produkte sind eine hohe Anlagenverfügbarkeit, Betriebssicherheit und maximale Effizienz. Aus diesem Grunde spielt das industrielle Internet der Dinge eine kritische Rolle in KSB’s Digitalstrategie, um diesen Produktversprechen jederzeit gerecht zu werden.

Problembeschreibung

KSB möchte seine eigenen Standards hinterfragen und die wichtigsten Stärken der eigenen Produkte im Bereich der Anlagenverfügbarkeit, -sicherheit und -effizienz kontinuierlich weiterentwickeln. Aus diesem Grunde suchte KSB eine Lösung für verbesserte Wartungsstrategien und Ausfallvorhersagen, um tatsächliche Ausfälle und Betriebskosten weiter zu reduzieren. Hinzu kommt, dass der Produktlebenszyklus von Pumpen, für die kein Wartungsvertrag mit der KSB besteht, aus KSB-Sicht nach dem Verkauf endet. KSB möchte den Lebenszyklus von allen installierten Pumpen im Feld nachvollziehbar machen, und auf Basis dieser Erkenntnisse deutlich verlängern.

 

Lösung

Der KSB Guard ist eine Cloud-basierte Lösung für die Zustandsmessung von Industriepumpen, die Systemtransparenz, verbesserte Wartungsstrategien, vorhersagbare und damit reduzierte Ausfälle und letztlich geringere Betriebskosten ermöglicht. Der Guard wurde als nicht-invasive Lösung konzipiert um sowohl vorhandene (Brownfield), als auch neue (Greenfield) Installationen anschließen zu können.

 

Die Lösung besteht aus verschiedenen Elementen:

  1. Sensor-Einheit: Sammelt Vibrations- und Temperaturdaten über direkt an den Pumpen angebrachte Sensoren

  2. Sender- und Batterie-Einheit: Sendet die Messdaten sicher zum Gateway

  3. Gateway: Sendet die Daten über LTE zu der IIoT Cloud-Plattform, unter Einhaltung höchster Sicherheitsstandards

  4. IIoT Cloud Plattform: Überwacht die Datenströme, analysiert die Daten und managed Geräte und deren Alarme

  5. Web Applikation und Mobile App: Visualisiert Pumpendaten und Alarme

Diese Lösung ermöglicht den Pumpennutzern, so schnell wie nie zuvor Fehler und Anomalien zu entdecken. Gleichzeitig entsteht eine solide Datenbasis für weitere Optimierungsmaßnahmen, wie z.B. verbesserte Wartungsstrategien, verbesserte Planung und die Reduktion von Anlagenausfällen. Letztendlich führt das zu einer deutlichen Verringerung der Betriebskosten.

Projekt

Katulu hat KSB bereits in der Evaluierungs- und Konzeptphase im Kontext der Produktentwicklung  sowie der Auswahl von IIoT- und Cloud-Technologien beraten. Katulu hat die industrielle IoT Plattform zu einem erfolgreichen Produkt entwickelt und damit KSB’s Vision mit dem KSB Guard umgesetzt. Dabei wurden die besonderen Kompetenzen in der Produkt– und Software Entwicklung eingebracht.

Das Herzstück des KSB Guards ist die IIoT Zustandsüberwachung für industrielle Komponenten wie z.B. Pumpen. Diese Zustandsüberwachung basiert auf einer Device Cloud, einem Data Lake sowie einem ausgereiften User- und Organisation Management zur Umsetzung einer hochskalierbaren, hochsicheren und mandantenfähigen IIoT-Plattform.

Da wir uns der Entwicklung nachhaltiger Lösungen verpflichtet fühlen, übernehmen wir darüber hinaus den operativen Betrieb für die IIoT-Plattform des KSB Guard. Die Plattform basiert auf der Serverless-Architektur und AWS Managed Services. Dadurch war es möglich, Betriebskosten im Vergleich zu anderen IIoT-Plattformen deutlich zu reduzieren – ohne Kompromisse bei der Verfügbarkeit und Sicherheit eingehen zu müssen.

Testimonials

Wir haben uns bei KSB bereits sehr früh auf digitale Geschäftsmodelle fokussiert. Hier setzt beispielsweise KSB Guard an – unsere innovative Überwachungseinheit für Pumpen. KSB Guard ist für unsere Kunden der einfache und schnelle Einstieg in unsere smarten Services, mit denen wir unseren Kunden einen ausfallsicheren und kostenoptimierten Anlagenbetrieb ermöglichen. Katulu hat uns bei der Entwicklung des Produktes von Beginn an sehr gut und partnerschaftlich unterstützt: von der Evaluierung, der Konzepterstellung, den IIoT- und Cloud-Technologien bis hin zu der Realisierung und dem Betrieb.
Dr. Thomas Paulus
Chief Digital Officer (CDO), KSB SE & Co KGaA
Katulu hat uns dabei unterstützt, eine skalierbare und mandantenfähige IIoT Cloud-Plattform für konzerneigene Produkte zu realisieren. Auf dieser Plattform bieten wir unseren Kunden nun stetig neue Services an. Im Rahmen der Zusammenarbeit hat Katulu gezeigt, wie es geht. Die Zusammenarbeit macht nicht nur Spaß, sie führt uns verlässlich in unsere digitale Zukunft.
Dr. Jochen Mades
Leiter Anwendungs- und Technologieentwicklung, KSB SE & Co KGaA
11
Monate
Entwicklung des Piloten
3
Jahre
Gesamt Projektdauer